Arugula-Spinach Salad Featuring Couscous

by Marsie

ImageFor work, I tend to pack my lunches. My wallet is a little heavier and my waistline a little happier not constantly going out for lunch.

Perhaps spending the majority of the day sitting in front of a computer screen contributes to my desire to pack healthy lunches. Eating greasy/sodium-ridden foods and then proceeding to sit for another 4-5 hours is setting the table for a lethargic-fight-the-yawns afternoon. 

However, a well-packed salad with multiple textures and fresh produce is always enticing to the veggie lover. Being resourceful, my salads tend to be a conglomeration of whatever I have in my kitchen. Almost anything is game to be tossed in a salad since my fridge tends to feature mainly unprocessed foods – some salads have turned out “interesting” while others have pleasantly surprised my palatte. Lately, I have been tossing in couscous or quinoa side dish leftovers and have enjoyed the change in texture and the flavors the prepared grain adds.

Today’s salad features a fresh arugula-spinach-greens blend, carrots, and tomatoes coupled with an almond-apricot-couscous salad, and topped with a balsamic-yogurt dressing – this salad is packed with protein and vitamins, as well as tasty flavors. 

 

Ingredients (rough measurements since I rarely measure when making a salad):

  • 1 ½ – 2 cups Spinach, Arugula, Greens Blend
  • 1 whole carrot peeled and diced
  • 1 Roma Tomato, diced
  • 1 oz fresh mozzarella, diced
  • ½ -1 cup Almond-Apricot Couscous Salad
  • Add a little seasoning to preference: oregano, basil, fresh ground black pepper, garlic powder, and salt.

 Toppings:

  • 1 – 2 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1 Cup Plain Yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp Slivered Almonds (I like seasoned cracked black pepper silvered almonds)

Pack yogurt and silvered almonds in separate containers. Throw everything else in a bowl. Drizzle on balsamic vinegar.

 

Note 1: The Almond-Apricot Couscous Salad already has olive oil, which is why I did not add any oil to the balsamic vinegar.

Note 2: This is a two-untensil meal: the downside to couscous: it is a tad difficult to eat with a fork.

