Insalata w/Avocado-Feta-Tomato-Cumbers

by Marsie

Lately, I have been craving leafy greens. Perhaps the cravings are a result of the abundant amounts of sugar I have been consuming. Salads of various forms have been sprouting into my packed lunches for work. My co-workers must think I so healthy – little do they know of my intense sweet tooth which reliably surfaces at 6:30pm every day.

Though I have seen an increase in my salad cravings this past month (starting shortly after Easter when the sugar intake drastically increased), I have always been a fan of a well-balanced and delicious salad.

There is a world of salads beyond iceberg lettuce and carrots. (Though I do love carrots, somehow I cannot make it through a day without my  β-Carotene.)

Replace iceberg lettuce with dark leafy greens, like fresh spinach or arugula, and your taste buds are in for a treat! Nearly anything fresh goes well in a salad. With so many varieties of fruits and veggies, the possibilities are limitless. Cheese and nuts add protein and another level of flavor. This weekend I paired blueberries, feta cheese, pear, avocado, and few other ingredients with the greens for a salad whose flavor surprised my family.

Perhaps I will post a few of the combinations topping my bed of greens. Honestly, whatever fresh veggies or fruits are available in my kitchen are likely candidates for my salads.

This salad is a more traditional salad, no “fruits” unless you strictly adhere to the “if it has a seed, it is a fruit” rule. The avocado gives the salad a creamy texture, the feta a touch of saltiness, and a few seasonings to enhance the other vegetables. Though a salad probably does not require a recipe, hopefully you may be a little inspired to explore the world of leafy greens!

Insalata w/Avocado-Feta-Tomatoes-Cucumbers

One Serving

Ingredients

  • Trader Joe’s Sorrento Salad (blend of baby spinach, baby arugula and baby lettuces)
  • 1/2 Avocado (small)
  • 1 oz Feta
  • 1/2 Tomato
  • Cucumber
  • Carrots
  • 1/4 Lime
  • 1/2 tsp Cilantro
  • 1/2 tsp Basil
  • 1/2 tsp Oregano
  • Freshly ground black pepper (to taste)
  • 2-4 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar
  • Roasted Raw Almonds

Combine ingredients, squirt lime juice over salad just before eating.

Note: The seasoning proportions are a rough suggestion, I usually just throw a dash here and there as I build up my salads.

