Whole Wheat Pita Pizza with Spinach, Mozzarella, Feta, Onions, and Tomatoes

by Marsie

The smell of sauteed onions and garlic is a favorite aroma of the kitchen. My mouth immediately begins to salivate as the aroma wafts and awakens the inside of my nose. No matter what else is consumed in a meal, my stomach is pleased by the presence of the sauteed onions and garlic. Combine the sauteed onions and garlic with a few other ingredients and a delicious meal arises.

There is a correlation with fresh and simple ingredients and a delicious recipe.

When I like a new recipe, I end up repeating it for multiple, and even consecutive, meals. I have no trouble consuming leftovers or being redundant in my taste for a short period of time – and only a short period because there are too many recipes and flavors to explore. Below is one of those repeatable recipes. If I had an unlimited supply of fresh vegetables, cheese, and pita, I may be in danger of preparing this every night.

This recipe can be adapted to preference, omit the tomatoes, and mushrooms to the onion saute, add red or orange pepper, etc. Though, if you are like me, a lover of sauteed onions and garlic, I recommend limiting the additional veggies to avoid overshadowing them and highlighting the cheeses.

Whole Wheat Pita Pizza with Spinach, Mozzarella, Feta, Onions, and Tomatoes

Adapted and inspired from Cooking Light

Ingredients:

  • 3 tsp olive oil, divided
  • 3-4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 red onion, sliced vertically
  • 2 cups of baby spinach
  • 1/4 cup mozzarella cheese
  • 1/8 cup Feta Cheese
  • 2 roma tomatoes, sliced
  • 4 whole wheat pita squares, or other pita form
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • optional: a dash of oregano, basil, and crushed red pepper

Preheat Oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit.

Saute onions and minced garlic cloves over medium-high heat for approximately five minutes.

Add Spinach and cook for another two minutes, until spinach is wilty.

Drizzle remaining olive oil on pita squares. Add onto pita the sauteed onions-garlic-spinach. Layer on cheeses and tomato.

Bake 4-6 minutes until cheese is melted and pita browned.

