Chocolate Banana-Berry Oatmeal

by Marsie

I have been falling behind on my blog posts, evident from my last post featuring cookies I made for Valentine’s Day nearly two weeks after the day. Part of the reason is the busyness of life, though this is a weak excuse because I find myself with pockets of time which could be used efficiently if I was more diligent and better in the motivation department.

One of my goals with blogging is to share recipes with friends and family; however, I also want to blog because I want a way of documenting and organizing my favorite recipes. Though the photography is weak, considering my photos are taken hastily while my stomach loudly proclaims the desire to consume the object of the photos, I am glad to have the memory captured visually; my eyes often decide what will become the menu when perusing recipes.

Another reason for neglecting the blogging is forgetting to take pictures of food I have been preparing. After preparing and consuming a delicious meal, I will realize I have forgotten to take a photo. Unfortunately, these undocumented meals, are my simplest and favorite go-to recipes, as I make them regularly.

Chocolate Banana-Berry Oatmeal is one of those recipes; one of my go-to recipes when I desire a warm breakfast and also have a craving for chocolate early in the morning. The foundation is oatmeal, a substance working as a substrate to amplify the additional flavors. The chocolate flavor occurs through unsweetened cocoa powder, brought to life by the sweetness of the fruit, cinnamon, and a touch of brown sugar. The sweetness is at a minimum, mainly derived from the natural sugar of fruit, a nutritious meal  for starting the day.

Made the morning of Fat Tuesday, Chocolate Banana-Berry Oatmeal is a temporary farewell to chocolate, as I have chosen it as a part of what I have given up for the forty days of lent.

Chocolate is a constant craving for me. I believe I may shock my roommates at my ability to consume chocolate on a daily basis. Sometimes my chocolate cravings are so intense, I can eat unsweetened cocoa powder straight. Extreme yes? Usually I pair the cocoa powder with frozen banana and peanut butter. However, lately I find myself going to chocolate not only out of enjoyment but also whenever stressed. This produces a pattern of relying on chocolate when life gets difficult. Which is why chocolate is being sacrificed, to rely on God for forty days, and break the pattern of going to chocolate first.

This oatmeal is one of the healthier ways I gratify my chocolate cravings. I will miss it during lent, having to replicate it without my favorite component of chocolate. If you like chocolate and do not require a lot of additional sweetness featured in candy bars, I urge you to make this. Though I used no recipe for its creation, stumbling across the combination through experimentation, I am sure this has been done before. Every time I believe I have discovered something new, I discover someone else has already been discovered. Nevertheless, I hope you enjoy the concoction as a warm and delicious way to start your day!

Chocolate Banana-Berry Oatmeal

One Serving

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats*
  • 1 cup water (or milk for a richer taste)
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/4 – 1/2 banana, frozen or fresh
  • 1-2 Tbsp raspberries and blueberries, fresh or frozen
  • 1-2 Tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1-2 tsp cocoa powder, unsweetened
  • dash of cinnamon

Bring water and salt to a rolling bowl. Reduce heat and add oats. Cook for 10-20 minutes*, stirring occasionally, until creamy and water is absorbed. Take off heat, cover for two minutes.

Combine with other ingredients, allow milk to absorb before eating.

Enjoy!

*If you use quick-rolled oats, adjust cooking time according to package, as they usually need only 2-3 minutes.

The oatmeal never lasts long after being prepared. So yummy, I always lick the bowl clean. My will power is improving with each photo shoot of my food, waiting patiently-ish to eat. I wish my stomach was more compliant as my will power.

