Buttermilk Cornbread

by Marsie

Mmm, cornbread…

As I venture into the world of cooking and baking, I am challenging myself is to produce dishes and baked goods from scratch – at least as far as my ability allows. Mixes are great for convenience and sometimes save money (especially if you rarely bake – why would you want bags of flour and sugar?). For those wanting to bake more than once in a blue moon, investing in bags of flour and sugar is more economical. Plus, goods baked from scratch usually have better flavor, texture, and a higher sense of accomplishment attached.

This being said, Ghirardelli makes a fantastic brownie mix.

Purchasing bags of flour, sugar, or cornmeal encourages me to cook/bake more often – finding new recipes to attempt. When the excuse came up to make cornbread, I finally purchased my first bag of cornmeal. I am excited to see what other types of dishes I can make with this new ingredient in my pantry.

The first cornmeal experience: buttermilk cornbread.

The following cornbread recipe is simple, requiring only a few recipes; its sweetness compliments savory foods – perfect for eating with chili. I also enjoyed this cornbread on its own. The buttermilk lends a richness to the resulting cornbread. If you prefer a less sweet version, more of a southern style, reduce the amount of sugar.

Buttermilk Cornbread

Originally from allrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2/3 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Grease an 8″ x 8″ square pan.

Melt butter in large skillet. Remove from heat and stir in sugar.

Quickly add eggs and beat until well blended.

Combine buttermilk with baking soda and stir into mixture in pan. Stir in cornmeal, flour, and salt until well blended and few lumps remain.

Pour batter into the prepared pan. Bake in the preheated oven for 30 to 40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

 

