Black Bean Salsa

by Marsie

Whether you are a bean fan or not, you probably will like this salsa.

I made this last Tuesday, for a dinner I was hosting for a close group of friends. Though I made a wide spread of food, my friends were the most excited for this salsa and the guacamole (mine is a simple combination of avocado, lime, cilantro, pepper/salt); their excitement over the salsa inspired me to post the recipe here.

I have had this salsa so many times – it is frequently made during the summertime at my parents house, when tomatoes are in season; though I always find the salsa delicious, I forget how amazing the flavor combination is until I hear the praise of someone trying it for the first time (and he/she usually ends up asking for the recipe).

Black Bean Salsa

Ingredients:

  • 1-15oz can black beans, drained
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1 cup chopped tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  • 2 Tbsp fresh cilantro or 1 Tbsp dried cilantro
  • 3 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2-4 Tbsp fresh lime juice
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 2 Serano peppers, Jalapeno will work (optional – when I find myself pepper-less, I sprinkle in cayenne pepper)

Combine ingredients, cover and chill at least 2 hours, tastes best if stored overnight.

Enjoy with tortilla chips, in a burrito/taco, and/or with guacamole.

