Bruschetta with Tomato-Basil-Balsamic Salad

by Marsie

Mmm tomatoes! I am shocked how many people dislike tomatoes! I cannot imagine living without the delicious produce! My meals are often sprinkled with a version of tomato, whether fresh, in a salad, a part of salsa, or a sauce. Cutting tomatoes from my diet would require a vast restructuring of my meal preparation!

However, we all have foods we dislike. No matter how many times I have tried olives in various forms, I still can detect and dislike their flavor. I am firm believer in trying new foods and giving different foods a chance when prepared in different formats. Once upon a time I found mushrooms gross; my love for mushrooms grew from my mom’s sauteing of mushrooms and onions – yet I still am not too fond of mushrooms on pizza.

Whether it is texture, preparation, cooked-vs-uncooked, if you like anything related to the Italian/Mediterranean cuisine, I recommend this bruschetta with tomato-basil-balsamic salad. If you dislike the flavor, I will eat the rest! Warning: the garlic flavor will stay with you for a while, so stock up on some mints!

Sure, once adding cheese, the base is not a true bruschetta, but it is definitely tasty!

I am not sure who to give original credit to the recipe I modified.

Bruschetta with Tomato-Basil-Balsamic Salad

Bruschetta Ingredients:
  • 8 to 10 slices of French bread or ciabatta
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • optional: top with shredded mozzarella

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Brush olive oil and garlic on each bread slice. Toast for 3-4 minutes (or optionally, until cheese is melted).

Tomato-Basil-Balsamic Salad Ingredients:
  • 3 to 4 medium tomatoes, diced (remove pulp and seeds if preferred)
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2-1 Tbsp fresh basil leaves (or 1/2-1 tsp dried basil)
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • salt and freshly ground pepper

Mix ingredients and allow to marinate for at least 15 minutes. If preferred, drain excess liquid before topping on toasted bread slices.

