Couscous with Almond-Apricot Vinaigrette

by Marsie

Looking at a busy week, and finding a little spare time on a Monday, I decided to make in advance a few side dishes for the week. I find most side dishes actually taste better after having time to marinate in the seasonings.

The first side dish I made was a couscous with almond-apricot vinaigrette; tomorrow you will see a post about a bruschetta I made with a tomato-basil-garlic topping. With this particular side, I struggle determining if I prefer it warm or chilled – I will let you use your own discretion.

Couscous with Almond-Apricot Vinaigrette

Serves 6

Modified from Real Simple Recipes

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/2 cups of couscous (I used whole wheat)
  • 1/4 cup apricot preserves
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 3-4 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • freshly ground black pepper and salt
  • 2 green onions (scallions), chopped
  • 1/4 cup unsalted roasted almonds, chopped

Prepare couscous according to package directions (My method: boiling 1-1/2 cups of water with 2 Tbsp butter and a dash of salt, removing from heat, stirring in couscous, covering for 5 minutes before fluffing with a fork).

Warm apricot preserves in a small sauce pan over medium heat, until preserves start to liquify. Remove from heat, whisking in oil, vinegar, 1/4 tsp salt (because I already used salt in preparing the couscous) and 1/4-1/2 tsp black pepper.

Pour mixture over fluffed couscous, tossing in chopped green onions and almonds.

For added protein and flavor, I like to top a serving of the couscous with shredded mozzarella and a scrambled egg.

