Artichoke-Tomato Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

by Marsie

The image does not do the dish justice. I was half-way through eating the stuffed cap when my sister asked if I was posting the recipe since she is interested in recreating this dish. “Crap! I should have taken a photo before eating the cap!” After quickly grabbing my phone, I snapped a shot of my meal, hence the resulting image above.

In my family, the holidays revolve around a series of delicious miniature meals, usually interchanging between sweet and savory. One could compare it to a traditional tea party, between each tea serving, forms of hors d’oeuvre are served.

Each day consisted of one large meal (depending on the day of the week and our mood, it changed between breakfast/brunch or dinner). The rest of the day we ends up only snacking on impromptu concoctions and left overs.

I almost didn’t think of recording this concoction because I whipped up this dish after my mom presented me with two portobello mushroom caps to prepare with our dinner. I have limited experience with mushrooms beyond the realm of sauteing (always a safe go-to); however,  I wanted to take advantage of  my mom’s extensive pantry and load fridge. Baking mushrooms? Why not? After skimming through a few recipes for stuffed portobello mushroom caps, I decided to invent my own with the ingredients on hand. Besides marinating the caps, I think the artichoke hearts are the key to this recipe, balancing out the cheese, tomatoes, and balsamic vinegar.

Stuffed Portobello Mushroom Caps

Serves 2-4

Ingredients:

  • 2 – 6″ diameter Portobello Mushrooms, rinsed and stems removed
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4-1/2 cup diced mushrooms (like white or crimini) and onions
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 plump tomato, finely diced
  • 1 14 ounce can artichoke hearts, finely diced
  • 1/8-1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • Salt (to taste preference)

Preheat oven 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Mince two cloves of garlic and add to 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar, add Portobello mushroom caps and marinate at least an hour. I marinated mine in a gallon zip-lock bag.

Meanwhile, saute one clove of minced garlic in olive oil with the diced mushrooms and onions. Once the onions start to brown, add spinach. Saute until spinach wilts and turns a darker green.

Remove marinaded Portobello caps from zip-lock bags and shake out excess liquid. Place caps top down into a greased 13″x9″ baking sheet.  Lightly salt and pepper. Layer sauteed mushrooms/onions/spinach, diced tomatoes, and diced artichokes.

Top with Parmesan and mozzarella cheese.

Bake for 15-20 minutes, until liquid starts to escape mushrooms.

