Turkish Sesame Cookies and Ginger Snaps

by Marsie

My mother makes delicious cookies around the holidays, two of my favorite are her ginger snaps and Turkish sesame cookies.

Since I used to abhor cooking/baking, until about three years ago, my mother still does not take advantage of my ambition for preparing edibles in the kitchen. I have expressed interest/desire in helping in the kitchen; yet every time I come home, she has already made a spread of food. This year I came home to discover she had made the ginger snaps and Turkish sesame cookies. Despite my disappointment in not getting to be apart of the creation process, the flavor of these cookies aids in progressing the forgiveness process.

 

My father received the recipe for the Turkish Sesame Cookies from one of his coworkers and his wife, Nilufer and Adnan Ates. I owe them a huge thanks, these cookies are one of my favorite non-chocolate cookies! These cookies have a drier, less sweet flavor. Instead of using vanilla extract, it uses vanilla sugar. My family enjoys these cookies with coffee or tea.

Turkish Sesame Cookies

Original recipe from Nilufer and Adnan Ates

Ingredients

  • 9.5 Tbsp of butter (unsalted)
  • 8 grams vanilla sugar (one packet of Dr. Oetker’s Vanilla Sugar)
  • 1 egg separated, yolk only
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1-2/3 cup of flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • Sesame seeds

Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit (convention).

Mix sugar and butter.

Combine flour and baking powder, add to sugar and butter mixture. Hand knead batter, add vanilla.

Round batter into 20-25 mm balls, coating in egg white. Place in sesame seeds.

Bake about 20 minutes.

I like ginger snaps a little stale. Let them sit for a day or two and then munch into the crunchy deliciousness.

Ginger Snaps

Original Recipe found at allrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup shortening
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup light molasses
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 35o degrees Fahrenheit.

Cream together shortening and sugar, add egg and beat until fluffy. Stir in molasses and mix well.

Sift all dry ingredients, twice. Add molasses mixture and mix well.

Spoon scoop out spoonfuls of dough and form into round balls. Roll tops of balls in sugar.

Place the round balls on a cookie sheet, spaced about two inches apart, as the cookies spread and flatten as they bake.

Bake for exactly 9 minutes. Remove from baking sheet and cool.

