Apple-Raspberry Coffee Cake

by Marsie

Failures are inevitable. Every time one embarks on any new experiment, he/she runs the risk of failing. Fortunately, in the kitchen, I have had a recent run of successes; when a failure occurs, whether monumental (worthy of not even consuming) or slight (like discoloration/texture/overcooked), I am encouraged by the pass successes to continue experimenting in the kitchen.

This past week I had a slight failure in the kitchen while attempting to modify a Apple-Raisin Coffee Cake Recipe. I successfully made the original recipe last winter and desired to adapt to the ingredients on hand this winter. I also wanted to make this recipe vegan friendly to accommodate my vegan friends.

Two failures led to the coffee cake’s slight failure. Firstly, I folded in the raspberries (I used frozen) too soon, resulting in a slight hue of green cake. Secondly, I undercooked the coffee cake. While the first failure is purely aesthetics, like green eggs, green bread is not an appetizing look. The second failure was redeemable, but resulted in me taste testing the bread every 5-10 minutes. By the time the bread was baked (tasty at all levels of done-ness), I had eaten a third of the pan and had a stomach ache.

For the reason of my failures, there are no photos for this blog at this time. When I attempt to do this recipe again, I will post a few photos.

Because my failures are easily fixed, I am still recommending this coffee cake. May the aesthetics be more favorable for you!

Apple-Raspberry Coffee Cake

Roughly based upon Beachbody Apple-Raisin Coffee Cake.

  • 5 cups cored, peeled, and chopped apples
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup chopped almonds or walnuts
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce*
  • 2-1/2 cups whole grain flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup raspberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix apples, brown sugar, and nuts. Let set for 30 minutes.

Stir in oil, vanilla, and apple sauce into apple-sugar-nut mixture.

Sift flour, baking soda, and cinnamon together. Slowly stir the dry ingredients into the wet mixture, making sure the wet mixture remains moist.

Fold in raspberries.

Fold entire mixture into a 13″ x 9″ x 2″ pan. Bake for 35-40 minutes. Sprinkle a layer of brown sugar over the cake.

* or substitute 1/4 cup apple sauce with 1 beaten egg, and reduce baking soda by 1/2 tsp: going from 2 tsp to 1-1/2 tsp

