Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie

by Marsie

Now I am not vegan. I like eggs, milk, and cheese too much and have not gotten to a point where I fully detest the practices of the dairy industry. However, I am always intrigued by vegan recipes, especially vegan desserts; I like eating desserts, a lot, and probably could benefit from consuming healthier versions – vegan desserts have the potential to be healthier. So, prepare for some vegan dessert experiments.

Experiment One: Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie/Deep Dish. This recipe intrigued me mainly because the recipe includes beans. I really wanted to try it and found the excuse to make it… And found a few this Tuesday: firstly, I was attending a Christmas gathering with friends. Secondly, one of my friend’s is vegan. Thirdly, I liked having guinea pigs. In case the recipe failed, I also made a batch of peppermint bark, a successful recipe I discovered and adapted from last Christmas.

The recipe was surprising tasty and moist/gooey.  It passed the test with both my non-vegan friends and my vegan friend. Vegan dessert experiment one gets marked as a success.

Next time I make these cookies, I am replacing the garbanzo beans with white beans (Northern/Cannellini). White beans are a bit more creamy and lighter in flavor as opposed to garbanzo beans. I might also add 1/2 cup of peanut butter chips next time since I have been in a peanut butter mood lately.

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie

Adapted from Chocolate-Covered Katie
 
  • 2 cans white beans or garbanzos (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 1/4 cup applesauce (sweetened or unsweetened)
  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1-1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • powdered sugar (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Blend everything  but the chocolate chips in a mixer or food processor. Blend well. Stir in chocolate chips chips.

Pour mixture into an oiled pie pan and bake for 35 minutes.

Allow to cool before sprinkling powdered sugar and brown sugar on top.

