Hot Chocolate/Mocha Flavored Popcorn

by Marsie

One of ways I like to relieve stress is with making food. Somehow I feel productive by creating something in the kitchen, whether it is a simple creation I have done a hundred times (like frozen bananas with peanut butter, cocoa powder, and raspberries), something with more steps (overwhelmingly chocolate cookies), or something new (like today’s hot chocolate/mocha flavored popcorn).

I was craving sweet popcorn, but wanted a flavor different than traditional kettle corn. Because an air popper pops flavorless popcorn, I had the perfect platform for experimenting. I have an extreme sweet tooth; my sweet tooth prefers sweetness in the form of chocolate. Chocolate pairs well with coffee. Which is when I discovered adding hot chocolate mix to the popcorn makes for a delicious combination! I immediately created a second batch after inhaling the first batch. I wanted to improve and recreate my serendipitous delicious snack.

I am still perfecting the ratios… much of the ratio combination depends on the amount of butter one prefers on his/her popcorn. Take the below recipe as more of a guideline for flavor combination/idea.

Hot Chocolate/Mocha Flavored Popcorn

Ingredients:

  • 8 cups air-popped popcorn
  • 2 Tbsp light butter (or butter, or butter substitute)
  • salt
  • cinnamon
  • 1/4 – 1/2 packet hot chocolate mix (I used Swiss Mist Mocha Cappuccino hot chocolate mix)
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar, plus extra for sprinkling
  • 1 tbsp ground coffee (omit if you are not a coffee fan), plus extra for sprinkling

Melt butter. Combine hot chocolate mix, brown sugar, and ground coffee. Stir into melted butter.

Pour butter mixture over popcorn. Sprinkle with cinnamon and salt. Stir.

Serve in individual bowls, sprinkle on additional hot chocolate, sugar, and ground coffee.

If you are like me and cannot get enough of chocolate, enjoy with a cup of hot chocolate!

