Pumpkin Oatmeal-Cereal

by Marsie

After making another batch of the pumpkin chocolate chip cookies this week, I am left with even more pumpkin to incorporate into recipes. Though I love, love desserts, I think it is time to try a few healthier recipes. Pumpkin is a relatively healthy food on its own; however, the flavor of pumpkin is mild without other accompaniment.

What accompaniments do I enjoy with pumpkin? Cinnamon, apple, vanilla, raspberries, chocolate, cream cheese, milk… I am dreaming of various pumpkin recipes: pumpkin pancakes, pumpkin soup, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin bread… so many possibilities! To make the choice easier, I decided to start with breakfast. I found and adapted a recipe including a few of my favorite pumpkin accompaniments, though the others could be incorporated in future adaptations. I am not sure what is an adequate name for this recipe, the original recipe called it pumpkin bread in a bowl – but anything with the name bread in the title brings to mind a specific bite-able texture. I decided to call it pumpkin oatmeal, though not prepared in the same manner (it is served cold), it still uses oatmeal and has a similar texture.

Once mixed/blended, the recipe needs to thicken by chilling in the fridge at least ten minutes. I made mine this morning, worked out, and than ate it. What a great way to end a work out!

Pumpkin Oatmeal-Cereal

Adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie
  • 1/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • 3/4 cup milk (original recipe called for non-dairy milk, like unsweetened almond)
  • 1 cup oatmeal (or spelt flakes, bran, etc)
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1-2 tsp brown sugar
  • potential optional toppings: frozen raspberries, blueberries, chocolate chips, nuts
  • optional: dash of pumpkin spice

Mix together ingredients, and place in the fridge for at least 10 minutes.

Top with desired ingredients, I topped mine with a dash of pumpkin spice and frozen raspberries and blueberries.

